Mommi’s Helper & Updates

It’s been a long time since my last post.  I’ve had lots going on, as I’m sure everyone does!  So, there’s no excuse! ;D

I’m teaching my 6 year-old daughter, Alyssa how to sew!  And, she is having a blast!  She’s made a couple of pillows to start; and, this week we made fabric ornaments.  I cut out the shapes and Alyssa has sewn her teacher’s ornament all by herself and she’s so smitten!

I think it’s best to train a child on a ‘real’ machine instead of the toy machines.  A hand crank is also a good child’s beginner sewing machine.  Always teach safety no matter what kind of machine use.

…she also stuffed her ornament!

Way to go, Alyssa!  I’m thinking by the time she’s 8 years-old, Mommi’s Helper will be piecing quilt tops! ;D

I’ve been busy sewing all kinds of things.  A sewing friend of mine, who also had given me my first treadle machine, taught me to piece and free-motion quilt.  I’ve always wanted to learn how and now I’ve gone quilting crazy!  Resistance is futile!

On that note, here is a WIP of a Christmas tree skirt, which I have pieced and am now free-motion quilting.  Check out the tutorial from Piece N Quilt blog.

Hopefully, I can finish quilting this today so that I can add the binding and get it in the mail soon!

Here is a cute gift or stocking stuffer project using up scrap fabric.

Cup cozy (cup sleeve) and mug rug (coaster)!

I used a cup sleeve from my cuppa as a template and added about .5″ in size for seam allowance; cut 2 of fabric and cut 1 of batting (for both sleeve and mug rug).  I measured about 2″ in width for binding (sleeve).  Cut the mug rug 4.5″ square and for it’s binding, I measured about 1 1/8″ width.

It was good sharing with you all!  I have to get back to work.  I’ll try not to stay away so long!

HAPPY SEWING!

Leave a Reply

