Hi-Low Tank

I really need more tops!

McCall’s M6960, view B (w/o the overlay) in size 2XL (bust 46-48); my bust is 52″.  My fabric choice a vibrant yellow cotton.


To adjust for the bust without seeing/using a dart, I thought I’d be smart and use a 1″ vertical slash-and-spread @ the underarm on both front and back pattern pieces.  I also lengthened the front about 4″.  I did not make a toile!  For shame, for shame!


After cutting the fabric from the altered pattern, I ended up cutting the 4″ off the front. I had to use a 1″ seam allowance on side seams…too big of an armscye.


My notes for next time:  (1) pattern back to its original state; (2) pattern front to its original, but make a slash-and-spread of 3/4″.

Overall, I like my top and will “tweak” the fit; making it a “wearable” toile!


I’d like to make another in a drapey fabric, like challis!

Until next time…HAPPY SEWING!

Leave a Reply

