Rectangles and Red Flowers

Purl Soho’s Linen Tunic (a free pattern).  I used a lightweight cotton with tiny red floral print.

As I was constructing the top, it started to look like a nurse’s scrub top.  The gathers at the shoulders made the difference, it turned out beautiful and I love it!  It was suggested to use lacing to gather the shoulders, but I opted for 1/4″ elastic.  I cut my fabric rectangles at 17 3/4″w x 33″l to accommodate my bust measurements but, I think next time I will cut the width down to 16 or 16 1/2″.  I also overlocked all four rectangles — for a “clean” inside finish.  This was such an easy and simple sew!

This top is great for summer…it’s breezy and feminine!
On to the next project…Happy Sewing!

3 responses to “Rectangles and Red Flowers

  1. This turned out so cute! Can’t wait to make some myself!

Leave a Reply

